What is the National Cybersecurity Teaching Academy?

NCTA is a 12-18 credit hour graduate certificate for high school teachers. It includes coursework on teaching cybersecurity, foundations of cybersecurity, network security, and advanced topics. Four universities (DePaul University, University of Louisville, University of Arkansas-Little Rock, and California State University-Sacramento) offer the virtual program, with a little bit of variation depending on the university’s program. 

The inaugural cohort of teachers started work in Summer, 2022. NCTA is now reviewing applications for scholarships for teacher-students to start in summer 2024.  While applications for summer 2024 are now closed, keep an eye out for two NCTA opportunities:

1.  NCTA Foundations of Cybersecurity Course – this asynchronous, online course is for teachers who want to learn more about cybersecurity.  This is a college-level course and teachers can earn credit by exam at the end of the course.  For more information, email Dr. Jenny Daugherty at

2.  Applications for Summer 2025 will be announced in summer 2024.

 NCTA is supported by a grant from the NCAE-C , which is the National Centers of Academic Excellence in Cybersecurity (located within the National Security Agency). 

Sacramento State Logo

Program Descriptions

Read the course descriptions and locate contact information for each institution here: NCTA-ProgramDescriptions (PDF)

Sacramento State